Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Newman’s Team Takes Pit Crew Honors in Texas

Checkers®/Rally’s® Double Drive-Thru Challenge season championship still up for grabs

Ryan Newman’s over-the-wall crew took top honors in Sunday’s Checkers®/Rally’s® Double Drive-Thru Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway.

The No. 12 Penske Racing crew visited pit road for a total of 306.591 seconds during Sunday’s Nextel Cup event.

"The guys did a great job in the pits today, as they've done for the entire season,” said Newman. “We took a few risks by taking two tires only in order to gain track position and (crew chief) Mike Nelson did a great job making those calls. It helped us lead a few laps and get a fifth-place finish at Texas. Our last stop helped us gain five spots and we were able to hold on against teams that took four tires."

Checkers/Rally’s will present Newman’s team with an $11,000 check for winning the weekly competition. An additional $111,150 prize will be awarded to the over-the-wall crew with the most wins at the completion of the 36-race Nextel Cup schedule.

Newman’s team consists of: Bryan White (jackman), Scott Reiniger (front-tire carrier), Ben Brown (front-tire changer), Trent Cherry (rear-tire carrier), Joe Piette Jr. (rear-tire changer), George Whitley (gasman), Britt Goodrich (catch can) and Michael Warren (eighth-man). Cherry and Bob Pressley are the pit crew coaches.

With two races remaining, the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge season championship is still up for grabs. Mark Martin’s No. 01 crew and Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew are currently tied for the lead with four wins each; however, six other teams are still mathematically in contention.

If there’s a tie after the final race at Homestead-Miami Speedway (Nov. 18), the team which finishes highest in the driver point standings will be awarded the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru season championship.

Daytona (2/18) Martin Team
California (2/25) Martin Team
Las Vegas (3/11) Martin Team
Atlanta (3/18) Johnson Team
Bristol (3/25) Hamlin Team
Martinsville (4/1) Earnhardt Team
Texas (4/15) Martin Team
Phoenix (4/21) Hamlin Team
Talladega (4/29) Kurt Busch Team
Richmond (5/6) J. Gordon Team
Darlington (5/13) J. Gordon Team
Charlotte (5/27) Hamlin Team
Dover (6/4) Newman Team
Pocono (6/10) J. Gordon Team
Michigan (6/19) Kyle Busch Team
Infineon (6/24) Harvick Team
New Hamp. (7/1) Johnson Team
Daytona (7/7) Mears Team
Chicago (7/15) Harvick Team
Indianapolis (7/29) Sorenson Team
Pocono (8/5) Newman Team
Watkins Glen (8/12) Truex Team
Michigan (8/21) Kurt Busch Team
Bristol (8/25) Bowyer Team
California (9/2) Earnhardt Team
Richmond (9/8) J. Gordon Team
New Hamp. (9/16) Kyle Busch Team
Dover (9/23) Mears Team
Kansas (9/30) Earnhardt Team
Talladega (10/7) Sauter Team
Charlotte (10/13) Bowyer Team
Martinsville (10/21) Kyle Busch Team
Atlanta (10/28) Sorenson Team
Texas (11/4) Newman Team

No comments: