Wednesday, August 8, 2007

Newman's Team Earns Pit Crew Challenge Win at Pocon

No. 12 team takes top honors in Checkers0x00ae/Rally's0x00ae Double Drive-Thru Challenge
Ryan Newman's team took top honors in the Checkers0x00ae/Rally's0x00ae Double Drive-Thru Challenge during Sunday's Nextel Cup event at Pocono Raceway.
The Alltel team spent the least amount of time on pit road during the Pennsylvania 500 (230.512 seconds), claiming its second win of the season in the weekly competition.

"The guys have worked so hard all year long and we've had great pit stops during each and every race," said Newman. "I'm proud of this crew. They've really stepped it up this year and I'm glad that they're on my pit crew because I know I can count on them during the races to do the best job they can."

Checkers/Rally's will present Newman's over-the-wall crew with an $11,000 check for winning the weekly challenge. An additional $111,150 prize will be presented to the pit crew with the most wins at the completion of the 36-race Nextel Cup schedule.

The No. 12 crew, out of the Penske Racing stable, includes: Britt Goodrich (jackman), Scott Reiniger (front-tire carrier), Ben Brown (front-tire changer), Trent Cherry (rear-tire carrier), Joe Piette Jr. (rear-tire changer), George Whitley (gasman), Bryan White (catch can) and Michael Warren (eighth-man). Cherry and Bob Pressley are the pit crew coaches.

Mark Martin's/Regan Smith's No. 01 crew leads the season-long Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge standings with four wins.

To win, teams are required to finish on the lead lap while spending the least amount of time on pit road. Checkers/Rally's is in its third season as title sponsor for the Pit Crew Challenge.

2007 Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge Winners -- Nextel Cup Series
Daytona (2/18) Martin Team
California (2/25) Martin Team
Las Vegas (3/11) Martin Team
Atlanta (3/18) Johnson Team
Bristol (3/25) Hamlin Team
Martinsville (4/1) Earnhardt Team
Texas (4/15) Martin Team
Phoenix (4/22) Hamlin Team
Talladega (4/29) Busch Team
Richmond (5/6) Gordon Team
Darlington (5/13) Gordon Team
Charlotte (5/27) Hamlin Team
Dover (6/4) Newman Team
Pocono (6/10) Gordon Team
Michigan (6/17) Kyle Busch Team
Infineon (6/24) Harvick Team
New Hampshire (7/1)Johnson Team
Daytona (7/7) Mears Team
Chicago (7/15) JHarvick Team
Indianapolis (7/30) Sorenson Team
Pocono (8/5) Newman Team

1 comment:

ljc said...
This comment has been removed by the author.