Monday, April 16, 2007

Burton becomes first repeat winner at Texas

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Finally, a Texas two-step.
Jeff Burton passed Matt Kenseth on the final lap Sunday to become the first repeat winner at Texas, winning 10 years after he won the inaugural race.
Burton never led until he overtook Kenseth on the backstretch coming out of Turn 2 after more than 10 laps of trying to get past him. It was Burton's 19th career victory.
That denied Kenseth, who won the Busch race Saturday, a weekend sweep. It also ended a four-race winning streak by Hendrick Motorsports.
There had been 11 different winners in the 11 races since Burton won the first race at the 1.5-mile, high-banked Texas track.
Jeff Gordon led 173 of 334 laps and finished fourth, the fifth top-five finish in the seven races this season for the Hendrick driver. But he is 0-for-13 at Texas, joining Phoenix and Homestead as the only active tracks where the four-time Nextel Cup champion hasn't won.
Kenseth and Mark Martin, who finished third after sitting out two races, are former Texas winners.
Burton won with an average speed of 143.359 mph and was the last of nine leaders. Gordon, the points leader who started on the pole after qualifying was canceled because of storms, led four times and Dale Earnhardt Jr. had three leads for 96 laps.


No comments: